Search
College of Arts and Sciences

Germanic Studies

Faculty

Core Faculty

FACULTY MEMBER CONTACT FIELDS OF INTEREST OFFICE HR
Claudia BregerClaudia Breger
Professor
clbreger@indiana.edu 20th- and 21st-century literature, film and culture, with an emphasis on literary, media, and cultural theory, as well as the intersections of gender, sexuality, and race W 3:00-4:30 & by appointment
Fritz BreithauptFritz Breithaupt
Professor
fbreitha@indiana.edu Literature and cognitive science; empathy; narrative; German & European literature, philosophy, and culture since 1700; aesthetics; intellectual history of money, Goethe by appointment only
Troy BylerTroy Byler
Senior German Lecturer
Outreach Coordinator
tbyler@indiana.edu Language pedagogy, teacher training, workshop development and programming by appointment
Michel ChaouliMichel Chaouli
Associate Professor
chaouli@indiana.edu Literature and philosophy; phenomenlogical and cognitive approaches to fiction; embodied mind and the senses; aesthetic theory; literature starting around 1750 W 2-3:30 & by appointment
Susanne EvenSusanne Even
Clinical Associate Professor
Language Coordinator
evens@indiana.edu Foreign language pedagogy, innovative teaching and learning approaches, performative pedagogy, intercultural and multilingual competence, bilingual novels, and curriculum development for higher education. by appointment only
Kari Gade
Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
gade@indiana.edu Old Norse-Icelandic language, literature, culture and history, together with Germanic philology, metrics, and linguistics. MW 1:30-3pm & by appointment
Bieneke HaitjemaBieneke Haitjema
Lecturer, Dutch Language and Culture
jhaitjem@imail.iu.edu Comparative philology, Sociolinguistics, and Poetry International "In other words" TR 12:30-1:30 & by appointment
Tracy HallTracy Alan Hall
Professor
tahall2@indiana.edu General and Germanic linguistics, phonology, morphology, and historical linguistics MW 10-11am & by appointment
Esther Ham
Senior Lecturer of Dutch
Coordinator for Dutch Language and Culture
eham@indiana.edu Second/foreign language pedagogy, intercultural communication, Frisian, citétaal, Afrikaans and anything related to South-Africa and elephants by appointment only
Hildegard KellerHildegard Keller
Professor
hekeller@indiana.edu German literature, especially from the beginnings up to 1700 - mysticism in the Middle Ages and early modernity - medical history - historiography of the theatre - performative approaches to medieval literature by appointment only
Dov-Ber KerlerDov-Ber Kerler
Professor
dkerler@indiana.edu History, dialectology, sociology, and the linguistic analysis of Yiddish; history of old Yiddish literature (15th to 18th century); Yiddish-Slavic linguistic and cultural contacts; Yiddish and modern Israeli Hebrew; Modern Yiddish poetry by appointment only
Nikole LangjahrNikole Langjahr
Senior German Lecturer
nilangja@indiana.edu Language pedagogy, intercultural communication by appointment only
Gergana MayGergana May
Senior Lecturer
Coordinator of Norwegian Program
ggmay@indiana.edu Norwegian language, Scandinavian literature and theatre, Ibsen and Strindberg, literary theory and criticism, translation for the theatre T 12:30-1:30 & by appointment
William RaschWilliam Rasch
Chairman & Professor
wrasch@indiana.edu German philosophical tradition, especially social and political theory, from early modernity to the present. German literature within its historical and political context by appointment only
Benjamin Robinson
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
bbrobins@indiana.edu 20th century and contemporary literature and culture, especially with respect to institutions of law, economics and science; modernism and socialism; questions of literary reference and realism, particularly as they are thought about in phenomenological and sociological traditions by appointment
Johannes TurkJohannes Turk
Associate Professor
Director, Institute of German Studies
joturk@indiana.edu Literary Theory, Aesthetic Theory, Rhetoric, Philosophy, The history of the German and the European Novel, Modernism, Literature and Life Sciences (especially Immunology), Trauma and Literature R 2:30-3:30 & by appointment
Marc Weiner
Professor
weiner@indiana.edu 19th- & early 20th-century literary and cultural studies of Germany and Austria; Fin-de-Siècle Vienna; German and Austrian music, opera and ideology, history of racial and sexual iconographies, German-Jewish relations, German film, critical theory TR 1:00-2:00 & by appointment

Visiting Lecturers

FACULTY MEMBER CONTACT FIELDS OF INTEREST
Wolfram Eilenberger
Max Kade Distingushed Visiting Professor
TBA

Adjunct Faculty

FACULTY MEMBER CONTACT FIELDS OF INTEREST
Kathleen Bardovi-Harlig
Professor, Second Language Studies
bardovi@indiana.edu Second language acquisition, second language temporality and tense-mood-aspect systems, interlanguage pragmatics
Laurent Dekydtspotter
Professor, French Linguistics
Professor, Second Language Studies
ldekydts@indiana.edu Development of interpretive knowledge: phrasal semantics, lexical semantics and grammatically computed pragmatic inferences. Sentence processing: information integration in L2 processing
Robert Fulk
Chancellor's Professor, English
fulk@indiana.edu Germanic (especially Old English and Old Icelandic) and Celtic languages and literatures, the history of the English language, and comparative Indo-European linguistics
Sander Gliboff
Professor, History and Philosophy of Science
sgliboff@indiana.edu The history of biology, especially evolution and genetics, and the science in modern Germany and Austria
Christoph Irmscher
Provost Professor, English
cirmsche@indiana.edu 19th- and 20th-century American and Canadian literature and culture
Joshua Kates
Professor, English
jkates@indiana.edu The roots of French poststructuralism (particularly Jacques Derrida's thought) in the phenomenology of Edmund Husserl and Martin Heidegger
Sandra Kuebler
Professor, Linguistics
skuebler@indiana.edu German linguistics, corpus linguistics (especially with linguistically annotated corpora), parsing morphologically rich languages (with a focus on German), sentiment analysis
Michelle Moyd
Associate Professor, History
mimoyd@indiana.edu East Africa, colonial, cultural and military; Militaries and labor; Labor history; Violence; Gender, war, and militarization; Comparative and "entangled" histories
Eyal Peretz
Professor, Comparative Literature
eperetz@indiana.edu The relations between philosophy and the arts
Roberta Pergher
Assistant Professor, History
rpergher@indiana.edu Modern Europe with an emphasis on Italy and Germany, Fascism, Imperialism, Migration and settlement, Borderlands, Comparative and transnational history
Julia Roos
Associate Professor, History
roos@indiana.edu Modern Europe and Germany; Women and gender; Sexuality; Social, political, and cultural history; Propaganda
Mark Roseman
Professor, History
marrosem@idiana.edu History of the Holocaust; 20th-century German history; European post-1945 reconstruction; Comparative history, including German-Japanese comparisons
Bret Rothstein
Associate Professor, Art History
brothste@indiana.edu Northern European art of the fifteenth to seventeenth centuries, Dutch golden age, Early modern conceptions of interpretive skill, varieties and consequences of visual wit (including puzzles)
Jeffrey Saltetnik
Assistant Professor, Art History
saletnik@indiana.edu Modernism, Bauhaus, visual culture of the interwar years, Modern architecture and design, media theory, history and theory of pedagogy, relationships between the visual arts and music
William Scheuerman
Professor, Political Science
wscheuer@indiana.edu Modern political thought, German political thought, democratic theory, legal theory, and international political theory
Sandra Shapshay
Associate Professor, Philosophy
sshapsha@indiana.edu Schopenhauer, Kant, the history of aesthetics and ethics in 19th century Continental philosophy
Rex Sprouse
Professor, Second Language Studies Adjunct Professor, Linguistics
rsprouse@indiana.edu Second language acquisition, structure and history of the languages of Western Europe (Germanic, Romance, Celtic) and Turkish, syntactic theory, language contact
Mirjam Zadoff
Associate Professor of Jewish Studies and History
mizadoff@indiana.edu Cultural and Intellectual History of Modern Europe, East and West, History of Love and Courtship, History of Migration, Non-Jewish Jews, Biographical Research, History of Space
Noam Zadoff
Assistant Professor, Jewish Studies and History
nzadoff@indiana.edu Intellectual and Cultural History of the State of Israel, Zionism and Zionist Thought, Life and Work of Gershom Scholem, Environmental History and History of Emotions Post-War European History

Emeriti Faculty

Germanic Studies
Global and International Studies Building 3103
355 North Jordan Ave.
Bloomington, IN 47405-1105
Phone: 812-855-1553
Fax: 812-855-8927